Western Dominican Province

In the United States, the Dominican Order is organized into four regions, or “provinces.”

Dominican_province_boundaries_United_States (1)The Province of the Holy Most Name of Jesus is commonly known as the “Western Dominican Province.” The Province was founded in 1850 during the time of the California Gold Rush in order to bring the Catholic faith to a rapidly growing population in the Western United States. From the very beginning, the territory of the Western Dominican Province has been a place in great need of evangelization and missionary activity. It still is today. With secularism, atheism, and religious apathy on the rise  in the United States, particularly on the west coast, the need for Dominican preachers is greater than ever.

Today, 150 Dominican friars of the Province preach the Gospel in virtually every major city across the Western United States.

For additional information on the Western Dominican Province or the work of the Province, please click here.